## TECHNICAL ACTIVITY CARRIED OUT BY CENTRES / OVERSEAS CHAPTERS

Name of Centre / Overseas Chapter:				Veerut Local Centre	
r					
Title of Activity:	Lectu	Lecture Meeting			
Activity under Divisional Board MC			MC		
(delete which are not applicable):					
Date: 19-02-2023		Venue:		IEI Office A-12 Surya Nagar, Saket, Meerut	
		•		· · · -	



Audience in Lecture Meeting

Speaker Delivering Talk

Brief Report (not exceeding 4000 characters)

A lecture meeting was organized on "Maintenance Practices" on 19th February, 2023. Dr. M.K. Sharma, Retd. Professor and Head Deptt. of Mechanical Engineering, IIT, ISM, Dhanbad was the speaker. The session was started with a welcome note from Er. M.L. Jain, Chairman Meerut Local Centre. Dr. Sharma told that engineering can be divided into four categories viz Design Development Engineering, Engineering, Manufacturing Engineering and Maintenance Engineering. Maintenance can be defined as those activities required to keep a facility in as-built condition so that it continues to have its original production capacity. The objectives of maintenance are (i) reduce down-times, (ii) reduce maintenance cost, (iii) provide the desired service to operating department at optimum level, keeping in mind economic factor. Types of maintenance are- (a) unplanned maintenance i.e., emergency or breakdown maintenance (b) planned maintenance consisting of Routine or Scheduled maintenance, Planned maintenance, Corrective maintenance, Unit change out maintenance, Design out maintenance DOM, Contract maintenance Total productive maintenance

(TPM), Preventive maintenance, Predictive maintenance or (CBM). Other planned maintenance system options are- Reliability centered maintenance (RCM), Computer managed maintenance, Shutdown maintenance, Running maintenance, Opportunistic maintenance and Quality maintenance. The above methods/options can be utilized in the best interest of organization to result in highest level of reliability and availability, since it will also improve maintainability.

In the end, Hony. Secretary Er. R.P. Agrawal delivered vote of thanks.